People involved in the Canadian agriculture industry can win awards that recognize their advocacy, leadership and resiliency. Continue reading to see how you can apply for yourself or nominate a deserving colleague.

The Brigid Rivoire Award for Champions of Agricultural Mental Health

This award was created in partnership with the Do More Agriculture Foundation, Farm Management Canada, the Canadian Agricultural Safety Association and the Canadian Agricultural Human Resource Council and annually recognizes an individual, organization or group of individuals that has made outstanding contributions in raising awareness, addressing stigma, and supporting agricultural mental health in their local community.

The recipient will receive a $2,000 donation to any mental health initiative of the recipient’s choice, along with an invitation to attend the Canadian Federation of Agriculture’s (CFA) Annual General Meeting in February with all expenses paid. For more details on the award and nomination process visit the award’s page on the CFA website. The deadline for nominations is Oct. 11, 2019.

Read about how Medicine Hat’s South Country Co-op champions the mental health of its employees in this article from the August 2018 Communicator: Cultivating Mental Health

The Wilson Loree Award

The Wilson Loree Award was created 15 years ago by Farm Management Canada (FMC) and honours an individual or group who has made an extraordinary contribution to developing and promoting new and positive change in farm business management practices and expertise in Canada. The winner will be revealed during the Agricultural Excellence Conference on Dec. 3, 2019 in Fredericton, New Brunswick.

The deadline for nominations is Oct. 4, 2019. Click here to download the nomination form. More information on this prestigious award can be found on the FMC website.

Cultivating Resilience – A Women in Ag Video Competition

Women in agriculture are encouraged to submit a short, original video based on the theme “How do you remain resilient for your farm business?”

Five winners will receive an all-expense paid trip to attend the AgEx Conference in Fredericton, New Brunswick, and will be given the opportunity to speak at future speak at Farm Management Canada or Farm Credit Canada events.

For more information on the award, including submission requirements, click here.

CAAR's Choice Awards

Don't forget! Nominations are open for the annual CAAR's Choice Awards, recognizing the best and brightest of the agri-retail industry. Awards will be presented in February at the 2020 CAAR Conference in Saskatoon, Sask. Recipients will receive a $1,000 prize and a complimentary trip to the conference.

Click here for more information on the awards, as well as nomination forms and a list of past winners. Applications close Dec. 6, 2019 - don't miss your chance to shine a spotlight on a deserving CAAR member!


Related Articles

  • The Fertilizers of the Future CAAR’s executive director Mitch Rezansoff recently attended three days of meetings in Ottawa on the future of fertilizer. The CFIA’s Fertilizer Workshop, Fertilizer Canada’s Fertilizer Products Forum and The Fertiliz...
  • Celebrate With Us at the CAAR’s Choice Awards Banquet The CAAR’s Choice Awards Banquet is a conference highlight and is not to be missed! Join us for a delicious meal with your colleagues and friends, as we recognize the best of the best in Canadian Ag Retail. Following...
  • Blackleg Battle Continues into 2020 Which canola diseases are on your team’s radar for the 2020 growing season? Chances are, blackleg is on that list. Found in 75% of canola fields across Canada, blackleg is a serious yield-robbing disease with market ...
  • Nominations Open for the CAAR’s Choice Awards The CAAR’s Choice Awards are your chance to shine! Awards will be given out at the 2020 CAAR Conference, but you can’t win one if you don’t enter. Keep reading for a list of categories and application instructions. ...

Join the discussion...

You must be logged in as a CAAR member to comment.