The Canadian Association of Agri-Retailers (CAAR) is pleased to announce its 2019-20 board of directors who will lead the association throughout the next year as CAAR works to strengthen the ag retail industry in Canada through its advocacy activities and suite of valuable services to members.

“CAAR is the only organization dedicated solely to representing retailers and their side of the business,” says CAAR Board Chair Don Kitson. “A dynamic and engaged board of directors allows CAAR to effectively aggregate retailer opinions and interests into a strong message when dealing with the external groups, producers, government regulators and the general public.”

CAAR’s Board of Directors, comprised of representatives from the association's retailer and supplier members was confirmed during the 2019 CAAR Conference held this month in Winnipeg, MB.

CAAR is pleased to introduce the 2019-20 Board of Directors:


Stan Loewen, TerraLink Horticulture Inc.


David Dow, Dow Fertilizers Ltd.

Don Kitson, International Raw Materials Ltd.
Board and Executive Council Chair

Taylor Olsen, Olds Fertilizers & Agri Services Ltd.
Conference Chair

Luke Burton, Simplot 


Cathi Douglas, Federated Co-operatives Ltd.

Russ Reich, Richardson Pioneer Ltd.


Theresa Bolton, Parrish & Heimbecker Ltd.
Vice Chair

Blaine Cochrane, Shur-Gro Farm Services
Finance Chair

Eric Gregory, BrettYoung


Martin Kiefer, Agrico Canada L.P.
Past Chair/Communications & Public Relations Chair


Dave Thompson, Atlantic Agri Business Council/Atlantic Fertilizer Council


Drew Taylor, AGI-Yargus

CAAR thanks outgoing board members Tom Hamilton of Richardson Pioneer, David Strilchuk of FMC Agriculture Solutions Canada and Grant Larocque of Orchard Transport for their dedication and contributions to the association. CAAR was proud to honour Grant Larocque for his longstanding support for CAAR by presenting him with the Chairman’s Award at CAAR’s Choice Awards Banquet during the CAAR Conference.

Related Articles

  • 2022-23 Membership Renewal is Underway Don’t miss your chance to confirm your membership to the association that fights for your rights and provides the support you need. CAAR is the only national association representing the interests of and addressin...
  • Quarterly At-A-Glance (January – March 2022) CAAR was busy in the first quarter of 2022 - we know it's hard to keep up with everything. Learn about CAAR's activities in our first Quarterly At-A-Glance of 2022, providing an overview of how we represented and adv...
  • Happy New Year! CAAR thanks you for your continued support of the association. We’re looking forward to serving you again in 2022! Membership with CAAR is an investment and solidifies not only the strength, but the long-term sust...
  • CAAR News New Perk$ Partner – LeftField Commodity Research Inc. LeftField conducts market analysis on 16 Canadian grains, oilseeds and special crops as well as subclasses of crops on a weekly basis. Three comprehensive week...
  • CAAR News CAAR recently participated in the Pulse Value MRL Working Group, a meeting to review the market risk of new pesticide products coming to market, and/or products currently on the market that have experienced an MRL ch...

Join the discussion...

You must be logged in as a CAAR member to comment.